Disciplinary Regulations for Students of the Catholic Theological Faculty of Charles University

The document was translated by artificial intelligence. <u>The Czech version</u> is binding for interpretation.

The Academic Senate of the Faculty of Catholic Theology, pursuant to Sections 27(1)(b) and 33(2)(e) of Act No. 111/1998 Coll., on Higher Education and on Amendments and Additions to Other Acts (Act on Higher Education), as amended, has decided as follows Disciplinary Regulations for Students of the Catholic Theological Faculty as its internal regulation.

Article 1 Introductory Provisions

- 1. The hearing of disciplinary offences committed by students of Charles University (hereinafter referred to as "the University"), the imposition of sanctions for such offences and disciplinary proceedings are governed by the rules laid down in Act No. 111/1998 Coll., on Higher Education and on Amendments and Supplements to Other Acts (the Higher Education Act), as amended (hereinafter referred to as "the Higher Education Act"), and the internal regulations of the University, in particular the Disciplinary Regulations for Students of Charles University.
- These Disciplinary Regulations for Students of the Catholic Theological Faculty (hereinafter referred to as "the Faculty") set out further details of the Faculty Disciplinary Committee (hereinafter referred to as "the Committee") and its proceedings.

Article 2 Commission

- 1. The Committee shall consider disciplinary offences of students enrolled at the Faculty and submit a proposal for a decision to the Dean.
- 2. The members of the committee and alternates are appointed and removed by the Dean from among the members of the academic community of the Faculty after prior approval of the Academic Senate of the Faculty.
- 3. The Commission has six members. Half of the members are students. The alternates are two academic staff and two students.
- 4. The Commission shall elect and dismiss its Chairperson from among its members. The first meeting of the Commission, the agenda of which includes the election of the Chairperson of the Commission, shall be convened by the Dean within 30 days of the appointment of the members of the Commission.
- 5. The term of office of members and alternates of the Commission shall be two years, beginning on the date on which they are appointed.
- 6. The term of office of members of the Commission and alternates shall expire at the end of their term of office. Before the expiry of the term of office, the office of member

and alternate member of the Commission shall cease

- a. by appeal,
- b. together with the termination of membership in the relevant part of the academic community of the faculty,
- c. on the date of delivery of a written statement by which a member of the Commission resigns as a member of the Commission and an alternate resigns as an alternate to the Chair of the Commission; the Chair shall immediately inform the Dean of this fact.
- 7. A replacement called by the dean shall take the place of the member of the commission vacated under paragraph 6 for the remainder of the term of office of the member whose place has been vacated.
- 8. The dean's office provides administrative and material support for the activities of the commission.¹
- The chairman of the commission may appoint a recorder. If he or she is not a
 member of the Commission or an alternate, the recorder may be present at the
 deliberations and voting of the Commission.

Article 3 Rules of Procedure of the Commission

- Members and alternates are obliged to attend the meetings of the Commission to which they have been invited. If it is known that a member of the Commission is unable to attend a meeting of the Commission, the Chairperson shall invite the appropriate alternate so that the parity of the Commission is maintained. The alternate shall have the rights and obligations of a member of the Commission at the meeting to which he or she has been invited.
- If the Board receives a proposal to initiate disciplinary proceedings against a member
 of the Board or an alternate, that member or alternate shall be excluded from
 consideration of the matter; this shall be without prejudice to his or her rights under
 paragraph 4.
- 3. The Commission shall be chaired by its Chairman.
- 4. Meetings of the Board shall be closed to the public; this shall not affect the right of the Chair of the Board to determine that the hearing or any part thereof shall be open to the public,² nor the right of a student who has been charged with a disciplinary offense (hereinafter referred to as "student") to request a public hearing on the charge. In addition, the student has the right to choose his or her representative. The Board may decide to deliberate in the absence of the student only if neither the student nor the elected representative has failed to appear at the meeting without excuse. The excuse must be in writing and must be received by the Chair of the Board no later than the day of the Board meeting.
- 5. Only the members of the Commission, or a recorder appointed by the Chairman of the Commission, may be present at the deliberations and voting of the Commission.
- 6. The Commission shall decide by secret ballot if at least one of its members so requests.

¹ Article 13, paragraph 1 of the Statute of the Catholic Theological Faculty.

² § Section 49(2) and (3) of Act No. 500/2004 Coll., Administrative Code, as amended.

Article 4 Transitional and final provisions

- 1. The Disciplinary Regulations for Students of the Catholic Faculty of Theology of Charles University in Prague of 23 June 2010 are hereby repealed.
- 2. Proceedings instituted before the entry into force of these Rules shall be completed in accordance with these Rules.
- 3. These Regulations were approved by the Academic Senate of the Faculty on 31 May 2017 and come into force on the date of approval by the Academic Senate of the University.
- 4. These Rules shall come into force on the first day of the calendar month following the day on which they come into force.

David Vopřada, Dr.

Chairman of the AS KTF UK

ThLic. Prokop Brož, Th.D.

Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Charles University

PhDr. Tomáš Nigrin, Ph.D.

Chairman of the AS UK

The Academic Senate of Charles University approved this internal regulation on 23 June 2017.