• socialIcon
  • socialIcon
  • socialIcon
  • socialIcon
  • socialIcon

  • About


The Catholic Theological Faculty (Czech abbr. KTF) was the founding faculty of today’s Charles University which is the oldest and largest university in the Czech Republic. Founded in 1348, it was the first university in Central Europe. It is one of the oldest universities in Europe in continuous operation.

Charles University does not have one joint campus. The academic facilities occupy many locations throughout the city of Prague and three of the faculties are located in other cities (two of them in Hradec Králové, one in Pilsen). The historical main building from the 14th century called Carolinum is situated in the Old Town of Prague and constitutes the university's center. It is the seat of the rector and of the Academic Senate of Charles University. Carolinum is also the venue for official academic ceremonies such as matriculations or graduations.

Legal Status

In accordance with The Universities Act No. 111/1998 Sb., KTF is a legal entity within Charles University. This act, the internal statutes of the university and the internal statutes of the Faculty are the legal basis for its operation. The Roman Catholic Church also exercises its right to instruct its spiritual and lay people (§ 6 art. 3 ltr. a) Freedom of religion, statute of church and religious groups Act No. 3/2002 Sb.). From a canonical standpoint, KTF has the status of “a church faculty (facultas ecclesiastica)”; its activity is defined by the 1983 Canon Law Code, the Apostolic Constitution of John Paul II Sapientia Christiana dated April 15, 1979 with attached guidelines (Ordinationes), and other ordinations from the Vatican.

Last change: September 21, 2016 11:20 
Share on:  


Catholic Theological Faculty

Thákurova 3

Prague  6

160 00

IČO: 00216208

DIČ: CZ00216208

Main contacts

Dean (Secretariat)

+420 220 181 244, fax:+420 220 181 234

International Relations Office

+420 220 181 241

Economic Department

+420 220 181 400, fax:+420 220 181 215

Study Department

+420 220 181 383

Science Department

+420 220 181 384

Department for Development

+420 220 181 583

How to find us